NKCx Steering- and Expert committee

There is a joint steering committee for NKCx (which includes both analytical and process-register).


The steering committee's responibilities are:

· Define guidelines for future use

· Manage the business in accordance with special guidance documents for quality registries

· Go through and prioritize proposals for amendments

· Taking decisions on the extraction of data concerning more than one county


Steering committee members

Joakim Dillner -Registrar NKCx Analysis/ Chairman of the Steering committee

Professor of infectious disease epidemiology at the Karolinska Institute and director of the Center for Cervical Cancer Prevention (responsible for HPV testing in Stockholm/ Gotland,  leading the work in the reference center for HPV) at the Karolinska University Hospital in Huddinge

Björn Strander -Registrar NKCx Process/ Chairman of the Expert committee/ RCC Väst

Chief physician at the Sahlgrenska University Hospital with over 10 years of experience in organizing screening and operating the process register (Cytburken).

Pär Sparén

Professor of medical epidemiology at the Karolinska Institute, with considerable experience in epidemiology, biostatistics and running and analyzing data from large health databases.

Bengt Andrae - RCC Uppsala/Örebro

Chief physician at the Women's Clinic in Gävle

Christer Borgfeldt - RCC Syd

Chief physician at the Women's Clinic at the University Hospital Lund (Region Skåne)

Kristina Elfgren - RCC Stockholm/Gotland

Chief physician at the Women's Clinic at Karolinska University Hospital

Caroline Lilliecreutz - RCC Sydöst

Chief physician at the Women's Clinic at Linköping University Hospital

Pia Collberg - RCC Nord

Chief physician at the Maternal Health Care in Östersund (Jämtland)


In addition to the steering committee there is an enlarged Expert Group, which regularly meet with the steering committee:

The Expert group's role is:

·         Quality assurance of the continuum of care for prevention of cervical cancer

The Expert group's members:

Keng-Ling Wallin

Cytodiagnostician and program coordinator EQUALIS Expert Group for Cervical Cancer Prevention

Sven Törnberg

Associate professor and oncologist Regional Cancer Centre Stockholm-Gotland with great expertise in screening organization and epidemiology.

Irene Silverlo

Cytodiagnostician and health care unit manager at the Department of Clinical pathology and cytology / Laboratory Medicine in Gavle

Henrik Edvardsson

Clinical cytologist at the Central Hospital in Karlstad (Värmland)

Anders Hjerpe

Professor Emeritus of Clinical Cytology at Karolinska Institutet and Karolinska University Hospital in Huddinge

Anna Palmstierna

Development Midwife Regional Cancer Center South / Learning Center Women's Health Region Skåne.

Magnus Hultdin

Lecturer at the Department of Medical life sciences at Umeå University and at Norrland University Hospital, Umeå

Peter Horal

Associate Professor at the Department of Infectious Diseases at Gothenburg University and Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg

The members of the steering and the expert group has a large community expertise and support in specialist associations in the fields: gynecology, Clinical Cytology, Medical Microbiology and Epidemiology. The Steering committee members are also the various RCCs areas representatives.